The ACC Tournament Championship has gone walkabout lately. - Fri 15 Mar 17:00 GMT

Lately it’s gone up and down the East Coast and as far inland as South Bend.

The ACC Tournament Championship has gone walkabout lately.

  Things have been a bit different lately in the ACC tournament final.

  There was a stretch from 1997 through 2011 during which, with one exception, the title was won either by Duke or North Carolina.

  This variety was in sharp contrast with the previous 24 years in which, other than Maryland’s 2014 title and a pair by Georgia Tech in 1990 and 1993, North Carolina teams (Duke, UNC, Wake) won 21 times.

  Amazingly, if Tony Bennett’s Cavaliers win in 2019, on the heels of their 2018 triumph, it will mark the very first time a team from outside North Carolina won consecutive ACC Tournaments.

  CHANGING THE NARRATIVE ACC Tournament Titles By School (Listed By Most Carolina 2016 1 Notre Forest 1996 3 Georgia Tech 1993 10 NC State 1987 1 South Carolina 1971 0 BC, Clem, UL, Pitt, SU, VT